The Tooth Fairy

Excitement spread across Master C’s sick little face last week when he realised his tooth was loose. He’s been waiting and waiting as many of his friends have been losing teeth and he was desperate to have a wobbly one. So it seems the tooth fairy will begin visiting us in the coming weeks.

Curiosity got the better of me and I googled. I had no idea how this myth began or even what the going rate for a tooth is these days but was blown away by how many companies are out there trying to make a buck out of this childhood fantasy. Everything from a photo of the tooth fairy visiting your sleeping child to special tooth fairy money to leave under the pillow.

We’ll be keeping it much simpler than this but each child loses 20-24 teeth, times by 3 and we’re up for 60+ tooth fairy visits over the next 10 years!

So I’m throwing it open for opinions, what modern day tooth fairy traditions do you have in your household? and how much is a tooth fairy paying for a tooth these days?

5 thoughts on “The Tooth Fairy

  1. Wow exciting. I have to say I was shocked the first year of teaching when I had a child say to me the tooth fairy gave him $10. I since learned that most children I have taught got a couple of dollars in gold coins, however the tooth fairy tended to leave more if they had a busy night and couldn’t come the first night the tooth was in the special pouch/or glass of water. I have to say that the amount most students I have taught received was comparable to what I received when I was younger.

  2. I’m told the going rate is $4 per tooth. That’s inflation for you. Back in my day we thought ourselves lucky to get 20c under a vegemite jar. Like you I cant believe what a song and dance is made over the rite of passage that is losing a tooth. Many Mums leave trails of fairy dust in their child’s bedroom as evidence of the fairy’s visit. Seriously!
    Love Mumabulous

  3. I’m terrible at remembering. Just yesterday I posted on facebook a conversation I’d had with my daughter:

    ‎”Mama da toof fairy didn’t come.”
    “oh dear we do have the most absent minded tooth fairy.”
    “Will you be my toof fairy mama.”
    “sure”
    :: exchange of coin for tooth ::
    “tank you for being my toof fairy”
    Big hug

Leave a Reply

